

## No.V-11/8/2019-Admin-6 Government of India Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry & Dairying Department of Animal Husbandry & Dairying

Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi Dated 21<sup>st</sup> November, 2019

To

All Chief Secretaries of all States/UTS

Subject: Reconstitution of the Animal Welfare Board of India (AWBI)- Request for nominations-reg.

Sir,

The undersigned is directed to say that the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960 as amended from time to time is now administered by the Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry & Dairying, Department of Animal Husbandry & Dairying, through the Animal Welfare Board of India located at Ballabgarh (Haryana). The objective of the Act is to prevent infliction of unnecessary pain or suffering on animals. The present term of the office of the Board is to expire on 28<sup>th</sup> February, 2020 and this Department intends to reconstitute the Board in time.

- 2. According to the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960 among other, three well known humanitarians who are actively engaged in animal welfare work are to be nominated by the Central Government as Members of the Board. Para 4 to 10 of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960 containing the service of Members of the Board are enclosed for guidance and necessary action.
- 3. It is requested to forward names as indicated below under Section 5(1) of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960:-
- (xiii) One humanitarian and one eminent person as required under Section 5(1)(bc) and 5(1)(e) respectively.
- (xiv) A representative each of two Municipal Corporation as required under Section 5(1)(e)
- (xv) A representative one each from three Societies dealing with prevention of cruelty to animals (SPCA) as required under Section 5(1)(g) and
- (xvi) A representative one each from three Animal Welfare Organisations (AWOs) of your States as required under Section 5(1)(f)
- 4. The names as above may kindly be forwarded by 15.12.2019 positively.

Yours faithfully,

(Dr. S.K.Dutta)
Deputy Commissioner

## Copy to:-

- 1. Director General of Police, Govt. of (all States/UTs)
- 2. Principal Chief Conservator of Forests, Govt. of (all States/UTs)
- 3. Director, Department of Animal Husbandry & Vety. Sciences, Govt. of (all States/UTs)